Kane County Democratic Women “5th Annual Election of Officers”

CONTACT: Carolyn Bird-Salazar Chair, email

ST. CHARLES, February 26, 2022 – Kane County Democratic Women (KCDW) held its 5th Annual Election of Officers at the Hickory Knolls Discovery Center in St. Charles. Members cast their votes for Carolyn Bird-Salazar, Chair, Theresa Barreiro, Vice Chair, Lois Swatscheno, Treasurer, and Kim Young, Secretary.

Outgoing Chair Corinne Pierog was presented a plaque in deep appreciation for her leadership and vision for an organization aimed at creating positive social change through the process of empowering women. Pierog thanked those in attendance and outgoing secretary, Llona Steele, and vice chair, Robin Barraza, for their respective leadership roles.

Guest Speaker, Illinois Senator Karina Villa, gave an impassioned speech about the importance of the 2022 election season and the need to support Democrats up and down the ticket. She challenged the women in the audience to be informed, engaged in local governance, and to attend public meetings. More women, she stressed, are needed in government where their issues can be given a voice and where policy is made. And we should do our part, the Senator said, by encouraging those we know to consider running for local and government office.


Questions regarding the Kane County Democratic Women can be directed to KCDW chair, Carolyn Bird-Salazar at email

ABOUT THE KANE COUNTY DEMOCRATIC WOMEN: The mission of the KCDW is to harness the political power of democratic women to create positive social change through engagement, education, and empowerment. Meetings are open to the public and are held on the fourth Wednesday of each month.