Meet our board of directors!

The Executive Board is made up of the elected officers and appointed chairs of the standing committees.

The Executive Board makes decisions and oversees the affairs of KCDW.

Carolyn Bird-Salazar

Carolyn Bird-Salazar

After attending the North Aurora Village board meetings for years, Carolyn decided to run and become a village board trustee. She was elected in April 2021. As a trustee, Bird-Salazar is committed to keeping the village a family-friendly place on the banks of the Fox River and moving it forward with new developments to meet the needs and wants of the village residents.

Carolyn has lived in the village for 21 years where she raised her three now-grown children. She and her husband Dan enjoy outdoor events throughout Kane County, including traveling around the county by motorcycle.

Carolyn is also a founding member of the Kane County Democratic Women. She served as its first Vice Chair for two years and then the head of the Candidate Action Committee for two years before becoming the Chair of KCDW in January, 2022. She considers it a privilege to lead a group that is passionate and involved in the critical challenges facing democracy today.

Cherryl Fritz Strathmann

Cherryl Strathmann
Vice chair / Membership



Lois Ann Swatscheno

Lois A. Swatscheno

Kimberley Young

Kim Young

Appointed Positions

Robin Barraza

Robin Barraza
Fundraising Committee Chair



Sylvia Marshall

Sylvia Marshall
Public Relations/Marketing Chair

Kimberly Tarver

Kimberly Tarver
Forum Committee Chair

Candidate Action Committee

Position Currently Open

Available Chair
Events Chair

Hall of Fame

Corinne Pierog

Corinne Pierog
Founding Member
Past Chair